'Eega' triumphs at Filmfare Awards

Jul 21, 2013 IANS

Hyderabad, July 21 (IANS) Filmmaker S.S. Rajamouli's critically acclaimed Telugu revenge-drama "Eega" swept the 60th Filmfare awards (south) ceremony here by winning five honours, including best film and best director, in the Telugu language category.

Apart from best film and best director award for Rajamouli, southern actress Samantha Ruth Prabhu was adjudged best actress for her performance in the film, while her co-star Kiccha Sudeep won best actor in a supporting role award.

"Eega", which was lauded for its breathtaking visual effects, also won best VFX award.

The Filmfare awards ceremony was held at the International Convention Centre Saturday night.

Telugu action-drama "Gabbar Singh" followed in second place with three awards -- best actor for Pawan Kalyan, best music director for Devi Sri Prasad and best playback singer male for Vaddepalli Srinivas for the song "Pilla".

Anantha Sriram won best lyricist in Telugu award for his song "Yedhi Yedh" from the film "Yeto Vellipoyindi Manasu", while best playback singer female award was pocketed by Suchitra for the song "Sarocharu" from "Businessman".

Amala Akkineni, who made a comeback to the big screen with Telugu college-drama "Life is Beautiful", won best actress in a supporting role award.

In the Tamil language category, Vikram-Prabhu-starrer "Kumki", about the relationship between a mahout and his master, bagged three awards, including best actor in a supporting role male for "Thambi Ramaiah", best music director for D. Imman and best lyrics for Yugabarathy for the song "Solithaley".

The National Award-winning teen crime-thriller "Vazhakku En 18/9" won two awards for best film and best director for Balaji Sakthivel.

It was a lucky day for Dhanush who picked up best actor's trophy for "3" and an award for the global hit song "Why This Kolaveri" from the same film.

Tamil romantic-drama "Neethaane En Pon Vasantham" won two awards for best actress for Samantha Ruth Prabhu and best playback singer female for the song "Sattru Munbu".

Saranya Ponvannan won best actor in a supporting role female award.

In Kannada, coming-of-age comedy flick "Sidlingu" bagged three awards for best director for Vijayprasad, best actor in a supporting role male for Suman Ranganathan and best playback singer male for Avinash Chebri for the song "Elle Iio Oduva Manase".

Kannada period-drama "Krantiveera Sangolli Rayanna" and romantic comedy-thriller "Drama" pocketed two awards each. While the former won best film and best actor awards (Darshan Thoogudeep), the latter won best music director award for V. Harikrishna and best lyrics award for Yograj Bhat for the song "Bombe Adsonu".

Atul Kulkarni won best actor in a supporting role male trophy for his performance in "Edegarike", while Priyamani won best actor in a supporting role female for her work in horror-thriller "Charulatha".

In Malayalam, three films shared the top spot with two awards each.

The critically acclaimed "22 Female Kottayam", which features Fahad Fazil and Rima Kallingal in the lead roles, won best actor male and female awards, respectively.

Malayalam drama "Ayalum Njanum Thammil", about a love story between two doctors, was awarded best film and Lal Jose received best director trophy.

"Diamond Necklace", which was also directed by Lal Jose, won two awards - best actor in supporting role female (Gauthami Nair) and best music director (Vidyasagar).

The best actor in a supporting role male was won by Biju Menon for his performance in Malayalam drama "Ordinary".

The best lyrics award went to Rafeeq Ahmed for the song "Maranamethunna Nerathu" for "Spirit", while Vijay Yesudas won best playback singer male award for "Mazhakondumathiram" songt from the same movie.

Shwetha won best playback singer female award for "Shyama Hare" from the film "Arike".

In the technical department, best cinematographer award was won by Chota K. Naidu for Telugu socio-fantasy "Damarukam" and Jani won best choreographer award for the song "Dillaku Dillaku" from Telugu action-drama "Rachcha".

Veteran Telugu filmmaker Sathiraju Lakshmi Narayana aka Bapu was presented the lifetime achievement award along with singer Vani Jairam.

The best debut male award was won by Dulquer Salman for Malayalam action-crime "Second Show" and Udhayanidhi Stalin for Tamil comedy "Oru Kal Oru Kannadi", while best debut female award was given to Lakshmi Menon for Tamil romantic-drama "Sundarapandian" and Shweta Shrivastav for Kannada thriller "Cyber Yugadol Nava Yuva".

Click the Movie button below for more info:


More News