Oruvan Malayalam Movie

Feature Film | 2006

Oruvan is a 2006 Indian movie directed by Vinu Anand starring Indrajith Sukumaran, Meera Vasudev, Lal and Kalabhavan Mani. The feature film is produced by Saseendra Varma and Ajith Varma and the music composed by Ouseppachan.

Release Info:
December 15 2006 (India)   
Language: Malayalam
Director: Vinu Anand

Nobody knew who Sivani actually was or where he came from. Though he rarely smiled, there always was a calmness on his f... Show more

Nobody knew who Sivani actually was or where he came from. Though he rarely smiled, there always was a calmness on his face. But there was a fire in his eyes that few would miss.

Bharathan was a person who conducted fireworks for various temple festivals. He took on Sivani as his helper and Sivani proved himself extremely useful. Slowly the village folk accepted him and he became a part of them. But deep inside him something burned, a fire that wouldn't die.

Bharathan dies in an explosion at the firecracker unit and the responsibility of looking after his wife and three daughters falls on Sivani. Velu was an associate of Bharathan. His daughter Devoo is attracted to Sivani. Velu finds it a suitable match and broaches the subject of marriage to him. That's when he sees a hitherto unseen face of Sivani.

Oruvan, the debut directorial venture of Vinu Anand, is set against the backdrop of the lives of people engaged in the production of firecrackers. These people who add pomp and spectacle to feasts and festivals, not infrequently have their lives ending up in a holocaust. Just like among people engaged in other trades, there is intense competition and rivalry among firecracker workers. Oruvan tells their story.

The film has Indrajith doing the lead role of Sivani. Lal plays the role of Bharathan. The script is by Reggie Nair, whose earlier work was the screenplay for Pattaalam. The film is being shot near Wadakkancherry and Malampuzha under the Varma Film Corporation banner and will be released by Emil & Eric Release.



More Pictures...

Cast & Crew Details:
Indrajith Sukumaran
Meera Vasudev
Kalabhavan Mani
Rajan P. Dev
Salim Kumar
Mala Aravindan
Santhosh Jogi
Anoop Chandran
Shamna Kasim (Poorna)
Geetha Salam
Leela Hari

Director: Vinu Anand
Producer: Saseendra Varma and Ajith Varma
Music Director: Ouseppachan
Song Lyrics Writer: Vayalar Sarath Chandra Varma
Cinematographer: Jibu Jacob
Editor: Ranjan Abraham
Art Designer: Joseph Nellickal
Screenplay Writer: Reji Nair
Original Story Writer: Reji Nair