Swami Hindi Movie

Feature Film | 2007 | Family Drama

Swami is a 2007 Indian movie directed by Ganesh Acharya starring Manoj Bajpai, Juhi Chawla and Mithun Chakraborty. The feature film is produced by Ganesh Acharya and the music composed by Nitin Arora and Sony Chandy.

Release Info:
June 8 2007 (India)   
Language: Hindi
Director: Ganesh Acharya

Set in a village in South India, the film revolves around Swami (Manoj Bajpai) who understands the meaning of compassion... Show more

Set in a village in South India, the film revolves around Swami (Manoj Bajpai) who understands the meaning of compassion, humility and patience. He lives with his wife Radha (Juhi Chawla).

Swami has a childlike fascination for Rs.5 coins, which he loves to collect and swears never to spend them. He also has a long cherished dream of owning a rocking chair. But he never expresses it because he knows he cannot afford it.

Radha discovers Swami's secret by chance and asks him to use his collection of Rs.5 coins to buy the chair but he refuses.

On the other hand, Radha's favourite way of passing time is to watch TV. She is thrilled by the visuals of tall buildings, bridges, cars and roads in the US. Her only dream is that her son Anand gets the best education so he can get a job in the US.

She asks Swami to take up a job in Mumbai. He agrees and the family moves to Mumbai. Anand is a bright young boy and has the determination to fulfil his parents' dreams.

But life's unpredictability catches up. Radha falls sick and dies. After her death, Swami devotes all his time to his son who finally manages to get a job in the US but refuses to accept the offer because the company does not provide a visa to his father.

Will Anand go to the US and fulfil his mother's dream? What will happen to Swami?


More Pictures...

Cast & Crew Details:
Manoj Bajpai
Juhi Chawla
Mithun Chakraborty

Director: Ganesh Acharya
Producer: Ganesh Acharya
Music Directors: Nitin Arora, Sony Chandy
Song Lyrics Writer: Sameer
Cinematographer: Lenin
Editor: Kuldip Mehan
Screenplay Writers: Bhavani Iyer, Muazzam Beg
Original Story Writer: Ganesh Acharya