'Zindagi Na...' triumphs at Filmfare awards

Jan 30, 2012 IANS

Mumbai, Jan 30 (IANS) Zoya Akhtar's youthful movie "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" swept the 57th Filmfare awards ceremony here by winning seven honours, including best film and best director, but the best actor nods were given to Vidya Balan and Ranbir Kapoor for "The Dirty Picture" and "Rockstar", respectively.

Apart from best film and best director award for Zoya, "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" was named the best film (critics), and Farhan Akthar was named the best supporting actor (male) and won the best dialogue award for the film. The road-trip-based movie also picked the award for best choreography by Bosco-Caesar for the song "Senorita", and best cinematography by Carlos Catalan.

The Filmfare awards ceremony was held at Film City here Sunday night.

"Rockstar" followed in the second place with five awards, including best lyrics for Irshad Kamil for the song "Nadaan Parindey"; best music director for A.R. Rahman; and best playback singer (male) for Mohit Chuhan's rendition of "Jo bhi main".

It was a double whammy for Ranbir as he not just picked the best actor's trophy, but also the critics' choice best actor award too.

The other big winner turned out to be "Delhi Belly", which won for best debut director (Abhinay Deo), best editing (Huzefa Lokhandwala), and best production design (Shashank Tere).

This year's lifetime achievement award was conferred on Aruna Irani.

The best story honour went to Sanjay Chauhan for "I Am Kalam", which highlighted the underprivileged children's right to education, through the protagonist played by Harsh Mayar.

Priyanka Chopra won the best actor critics (female) award for playing the femme fatale in Vishal Bharadwaj's "7 Khoon Maaf".

Rani Mukerji's portrayal of a journalist in "No One Killed Jessica" won her the best supporting actor (female) award.

The best playback singer (female) honour was given to Usha Uthap and Rekha Bharadwaj jointly for the naughty and peppy number "Darling" from "7 Khoon Maaf".

The R.D. Burman Award for upcoming talent in field of music was bagged by Krsna for "Tanu Weds Manu", while Ranjit Barot got the best background score award for "Shaitan".

Among the newcomers, Vidyut Jhamwal and Parineeti Chopra were named the best debutants for "Force" and "Ladies Vs Ricky Bahl", respectively.

The best VFX trophy was given to Red Chillies VFX for "RA.One" and the best action award was given to Shah Rukh Khan-starrer "Don 2: The King Is Back". The latter also won the best sound design trophy for Nakul Kamte.

Niharika Khan walked away with the best costume award for Vidya's bold outfits in "The Dirty Picture".

The star-studded gala saw a string of B-Town celebrities -- Bipasha Basu, Madhuri Dixit, Sameera Reddy, Shreya Ghoshal, Onir, Farhan, Zoya, Deepika Padukone, Madhur Bhandarkar, Abhishek Bachchan, Rekha, Raveena Tandon, Anurag Kashyap, Subhash Ghai, Dia Mirza, Aditi Rao Hydari, Sarah Jane Dias and Gauri Khan -- walk the red carpet. Click the Movie button below for more info:
Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara


More News