Pahlaj Nihalani removed as CBFC chief, Prasoon Joshi and Vidya Balan joins the board!

Aug 12, 2017 Abhishree Kulkarni

Finally, the film industry can heave a sigh for relief. The overtly sanskaari chief of Censor Board of Film Certification (CBFC) – Pahlaj Nihalani, has been removed from his position and replaced by noted lyricist Prasoon Joshi.

The information and broadcasting ministry on Friday announced the removal of Pahlaj Nihalani as the chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), replacing him with Prasoon Joshi. Announcing the appointment of Joshi as chairperson of the certification board for three years or till further orders, the Ministry did not specify any reasons for the removing Nihalani.

Ever since Nihalani’s appointment in 2015, every other film was issued unreasonable multiple cuts. Recent films that came under the CBFC radar were ‘Indu Sarkar’, ‘Babumoshahi Bandookbaaz’, and ‘Lipstick Under My Burkha.’

The National Award-winning actress Vidya Balan was also appointed as part of the reconstituted Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), to be now chaired by writer Prasoon Joshi. She looks forward to a phase where cinema celebrates present-day sensibilities and realities.

"I am very happy to join the CBFC and I hope to fulfil my responsibilities as a member to the best of my abilities. I look forward to this new and exciting phase where our cinema will be allowed to reflect the sensibilities, realities and the complexities of the society we are living in today," Vidya said in a statement.

Vidya is joined by Gautami Tadimalla, Narendra Kohli, Naresh Chandra Lal, Neil Herbert Nongkynrih, Vivek Agnihotri, Waman Kendre, TS Nagabharana, Ramesh Patange, Vani Tripati Tikoo, Jeevitha Rajasekhar and Mihir Bhuta.

Click the Movie button below for more info:
Babumoshai Bandookbaaz


More News