'Bajirao Mastani' wins big at Zee Cine Awards 2016

Mar 7, 2016 IANS

Mumbai, March 6 (IANS) It was a double whammy for Deepika Padukone as both her movies Piku and Bajirao Mastani dominated the night of Zee Cine Awards 2016 here on Saturday.

Sanjay Leela Bhansali's "Bajirao Mastani" clinched top honours, including for Best Director and Best Actor for Ranveer Singh, while Deepika Padukone as well as Amitabh Bachchan grabbed the Best Actor trophy for Piku.

Bajirao Mastani, which narrates a story about Maratha warrior Peshwa Bajirao I (Ranveer), Mastani (Deepika) and Kashibai (Priyanka Chopra), took home 11 trophies. And Deepika grabbed the Best Actress award for the film in the Viewers Choice's section, taking the tally to 12.

The period drama won Best Film, Best Playback Singer - Female for Shreya Ghoshal (Mohe rang do laal"), Best Choreography for Ganesh Acharya ("Malhari"), Best Cinematography, Best Art Direction, Best Action, and Best Visual Effects among other honours, read a statement.

Ranveer shared the Best Actor trophy with Amitabh, who got the award for his performance as a constipated Bengali father, who is obsessed with his toilet habits.

The glitz and glamour of the awards night found its way on to the small screen on Saturday night, while the event was held here last month.

Shoojit Sircar's heart-warming tale of a relationship between a father and daughter through Piku swept technical awards.

Ranveer accepted the Best Actor - Female trophy on the behalf of Deepika, who could not attend the award ceremony due to foreign shooting schedule of her Hollywood debut film xXx: The Return of Xander Cage.

"Piku" also earned Best Story, Best Dialogues, and Best Screenplay awards, and they all went to Juhi Chaturvedi.

Neeraj Ghaywan's Masaan also emerged as a top winner. The film bagged five trophies, including Best Debutant - Male for Vicky Kaushal, Best Debutant Director for Ghaywan, Best Supporting Actor - Female for Shweta Tripathi and Best Supporting Actor - Male for Sanjay Mishra.

A special award called the 'Stunt Person of the Year Award' was introduced by Bollywood's 'Khiladi' Akshay Kumar, and it went to Amit Grover for his bike stunt in the movie Shamitabh.

There was dance, music and loads of fun with stars like Anil Kapoor, Ranveer, Sushant Singh Rajput, Arjun Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Kriti Sanon among others getting on the stage to get the groove on.

Superstar Salman Khan's Bajrangi Bhaijaan won the Best Movie, Best Actor trophy in the Viewers Choice's section. Click the Movie button below for more info:
Bajirao Mastani


More News