'Jodhaa Akbar' rules Star Screen Awards

Jan 15, 2009 IANS


Mumbai, Jan 15 (IANS) Ashutosh Gowariker's "Jodhaa Akbar" has walked away with the top honours at the Indian Express Group's Nokia Star Screen Award.

Lavishly mounted historical "Jodhaa Akbar" was adjudged the best film and bagged three more awards - while Gowariker bagged best director trophy, film's lead actor Hrithik Roshan won the best actor award.

Close on the heels of winning the Golden Globe Award for his musical score in Danny Boyle's "Slumdog Millionaire", A.R. Rahman bagged the best music director award for "Jodhaa Akbar" at the Nokia Star Screen Award held here Wednesday evening.

The 15th Nokia Star Screen Award will remain memorable for Priyanka Chopra as the event brought her the first best actress award for playing believably the role of a plucky girl who rises to the dizzying heights of a supermodel on her own steam in Madhur Bhandarkar's "Fashion".

Akshay Kumar bagged the most popular actor award for his endearing performance in "Sing Is Kinng."

Arjun Rampal walked away with best supporting actor trophy for "Rock On!", while Shahana Goswami bagged the best supporting actress for the same film. Akshaye Khanna got best actor in a negative role for "Race" and Tusshar Kapoor for best actor in a comic role for "Golmaal Returns".

Asin Thattumkal, who is currently riding on the crest of glory having made her Bollywod debut in a leading role opposite Aamir Khan in "Ghajini", was adjudged the most promising newcomer, while in the male category the most promising newcomer Nokia Star Screen Award went to Farhan Akhtar for his acting debut in "Rock On!."

Neeraj Pandey won the best story award for "A Wednesday", and the best screenplay award went to Shiraz Ahmed for Abbas-Mustan-directed "Race", the first Bollyhood hit of 2008.

Yash Raj Films' "Bachna Ae Haseeno" picked two awards - while KK got best male playback singer award, Shilpa Rao got best female playback singer for singing the song "Khuda jaane…". Anvita Dutt Guptan, who wrote the song, won the best lyricist award.

Actor-producer-director Sanjay Khan was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award.

Click the Movie button below for more info:
Jodhaa Akbar



More News